TripWorks pricing and fees, plus the best alternatives (2026)

Samba
TripWorks logoTripWorks
Entry price
$0 — everything included
$0/mo (Standard)
Booking fee
2% flat (first $10k free)
6% + card processing
Paid plans
None — one free plan
$0 / Enterprise (custom)

Last updated

By Valentin Fily

The short version

For operators who feel TripWorks's 6% booking fee, Samba is the strongest alternative: a flat 2% per-booking fee (first $10,000 of bookings free) and a free $0/mo plan with every feature included, versus TripWorks's free-to-start plan funded by a 6% booking fee plus card processing — three times Samba's rate before processing — and native deposits and installment plans TripWorks doesn't surface. TripWorks still wins on OTA distribution, selling across Expedia, Viator and GetYourGuide.

1

Samba is the low-fee pick

A flat 2% per booking (first $10k free) and a free $0/mo plan with every feature included, with native deposits and installment plans — a third of TripWorks's 6% before processing.

2

TripWorks's strength is distribution

An all-in-one platform with strong OTA reach — Expedia, Viator, GetYourGuide — and 1,000+ clients. The catch is a 6% booking fee plus undisclosed card processing, a day-tour focus, and deposits without installment schedules.

3

Bókun and Peek Pro are the like-for-like picks

Bókun adds a 2,600+ OTA marketplace at a booking fee around 1–1.5%; Peek Pro is the closest day-tour-and-point-of-sale match for what TripWorks does.

4

Match the tool to how you sell

Fee-conscious operators should weigh the per-booking math hard; OTA-heavy operators should weigh reseller reach over headline price.

How they compare

How they compare
SambaTripWorks logoTripWorksBókun logoBókunPeek Pro logoPeek ProFareHarbor logoFareHarborRezgo logoRezgoResmark logoResmark
Entry price
$0 — everything included
$0/mo (Standard)
$0 (Free)
Not published
$0 (no subscription)
$0 (no subscription)
$15/mo + $500 setup
Booking fee
2% flat (first $10k free)
6% + card processing
1–1.5% (0% on Viator)
~6% (estimate)
~6–8% (not published)
4.9% online / 0.9% POS
2.5–3.5% by tier
Paid plans
None — one free plan
$0 / Enterprise (custom)
$49–$499/mo
Not published
None
Pro · Custom (quote)
$15–$95/mo + custom
Transparency
Public
Partial — fees opaque
Public
Demo only
No public pricing
Public
Public
Deposits & plans
Deposits + installments
Deposits, no installments
Not stated
Not surfaced
Basic deposits only
Not documented
Deposits, no installments
OTA distribution
Channel sync (Viator, GYG)
Strong (Expedia, Viator, GYG)
Strong (2,600+ resellers)
Limited
Strong (Viator, GYG, Expedia)
Strong (Expedia, Viator, Klook)
Reseller network (TrueConnect)
Track record
Founded 2026
1,000+ clients worldwide
Not published
Not published
20,000+ operators
Long-running (Vancouver)
Outfitter since 1961; L.L.Bean

Source: compared against 16 other tour booking platforms. Browse every Samba comparison.

TripWorks pricing

TripWorks is free to start, funded by a 6% booking fee on its Standard plan plus a separate, unpublished payment processing fee. On a $3,000 trip that 6% is $180 before processing. Samba's flat 2% (first $10,000 free) is a third of that rate.

Why are operators looking for a TripWorks alternative?

TripWorks is a capable all-in-one platform — built by operators, tested inside a large Las Vegas attraction, and now serving more than 1,000 clients with genuinely strong distribution. It sells across Expedia, Viator, GetYourGuide and Google Things To Do, and ships marketing and point-of-sale tooling in the box. For a high-volume day-tour or attraction operator who leans on OTAs and wants everything under one roof, that reach is a real reason to stay.

The friction shows up in the fee: at 6% per booking plus card processing, the cost climbs fast — and the installment structure a higher-value trip needs isn't there.

What does TripWorks actually charge?

TripWorks is free to start, which is appealing — but it funds itself with a 6% booking fee on its Standard plan, plus a separate credit-card processing fee it doesn't publish on its pricing page. That 6% is three times Samba's flat 2% before processing even enters the picture, and it lands on every booking from the first one, where Samba's first $10,000 of bookings carries no fee at all. "Free to start" and "low cost per booking" are not the same thing, and on higher-value trips the gap compounds quickly.

Where does TripWorks fall short?

A trip that isn't paid in full upfront needs a deposit to hold the booking and an installment schedule to collect the balance over the weeks before departure. TripWorks supports deposits well — by group, by guest, a fixed amount or a percentage per ticket — but it doesn't surface a structured installment system. Its center of gravity is tours and activities, so operators selling higher-value trips often find they're stretching a day-tour tool to collect balances over time.

Who should stay on TripWorks?

Be fair about it: if most of your sales come through OTAs and you want marketing, point-of-sale and distribution in one platform, TripWorks delivers that, and its channel reach is a genuine asset. The operators with the clearest reason to move are the ones who feel the 6% on every booking and want a free way to start, predictable fee math and real payment plans.

The other pattern worth naming: TripWorks' 6% booking fee sits toward the higher end of the category, and — like FareHarbor and Peek Pro — it applies per booking with card processing stacked on top, so the gap compounds as your average ticket price rises. Operators running higher-value trips feel that scaling fee more than a day-tour operator selling $60 tickets would.

Fee math

What a 6% booking fee costs on a $3,000 trip

Samba · flat 2%$60
TripWorks · 6% + card fees$180
Samba charges a flat 2% per booking, with the first $10,000 of bookings free. TripWorks is free to start and funds itself with a 6% booking fee on its Standard plan, plus a separate payment processing fee it doesn't publish. On a $3,000 trip, that 6% is $180 before processing.

6 TripWorks alternatives, ranked

Samba leads for operators selling direct. The honest trade-offs stay visible on every card.

Our pick
1

Samba

Best for: Operators who sell direct and want everything on one free plan, with deposits and installment plans built in

One free plan · $0/mo, every feature included · 2% per booking (first $10k free) · Stripe processing separate · Enterprise on request

Pros

  • One free plan at $0/mo with every feature included — no tiers, no setup fee
  • Flat 2% per booking, with the first $10,000 of bookings free
  • Native deposits and installment plans with automatic reminders
  • No OTA lock-in; you keep the direct customer relationship

Cons

  • Founded in 2026 — younger than the incumbents, but more agile
  • Syncs bookings from connected channels like Viator and GetYourGuide, but is not a full distribution channel manager — the incumbents have wider reseller reach
Honest take

Built for operators selling direct: every feature on one free plan, native deposits and installments, and a flat 2% with the first $10,000 of bookings free. Samba syncs bookings from connected channels like Viator and GetYourGuide, but it isn't a distribution play — if resellers drive most of your volume, a platform with a full channel manager still gives you more reach.

2

Bókun logoBókun

Best for: OTA-heavy operators who want maximum reseller reach and a channel manager

Free $0/mo · $49/mo · $149/mo · $499/mo · 1–1.5% per applicable booking (0% on Viator and offline bookings)

Pros

  • Marketplace of 2,600+ OTAs and resellers, plus 70+ global OTAs
  • 0% Bókun fee on Viator and offline bookings on paid plans
  • Transparent four-tier pricing

Cons

  • Payment-plan and installment features not stated publicly
  • Day-tour and distribution focus
Honest take

The distribution play. If Viator and reseller volume drive your business, its channel manager and 0% Viator fee are hard to beat. It just doesn't publish payment-plan or installment features, so verify those on a demo if they matter.

3

Peek Pro logoPeek Pro

Best for: Day-tour and activity operators who want a known name and guided onboarding

Demo-gated; no public pricing; reportedly ~6% per booking (third-party)

Pros

  • Strong brand recognition
  • Mature day-tour and activity feature set

Cons

  • No public pricing; you request a demo
  • Day-tour focus; payment plans not surfaced
Honest take

A credible day-tour platform with strong brand recognition, but opaque on price. Only third parties quote its fee, near 6%, so treat that as an estimate rather than a number you can plan against.

4

FareHarbor logoFareHarbor

Best for: Operators who want the largest, most established brand and heavy OTA distribution

$0/mo (no subscription) · reportedly 6–8% per direct booking (third-party sources; fees not published)

Pros

  • The biggest name in the category — 20,000+ companies and a Booking Holdings brand
  • Strong OTA distribution: Viator, GetYourGuide, Expedia and Google Things to Do
  • No monthly subscription to start

Cons

  • Publishes no pricing; the per-booking fee is only reported by third parties at 6–8%
  • Day-tour-first design — itineraries and installment plans are not its focus
Honest take

FareHarbor is the heavyweight, and its distribution is a genuine asset. The honest trade-offs are that it is day-tour-first and just as opaque on price as the platforms it competes with — its fee is only reported by third parties at 6–8%, never published.

5

Rezgo logoRezgo

Best for: Operators who want no monthly subscription and pay only a per-booking fee, with strong OTA reach

No monthly subscription · 4.9% per online booking (0.9% at point of sale) · Custom plan for tailored rates

Pros

  • No monthly subscription — you pay only when you get a booking
  • Transparent, published per-booking pricing
  • Strong OTA and reseller distribution (Expedia, Viator, GetYourGuide, Booking.com, Klook)

Cons

  • 4.9% per online booking runs well above Samba's flat 2% (first $10k free)
  • No deposit or installment system documented on public pages
  • No published customer count
Honest take

Rezgo's no-subscription, pay-per-booking model is appealing if your volume is low or seasonal, and its OTA reach is genuine. The catch is the math: 4.9% per online booking adds up fast on higher-value trips, and there is no documented deposit or installment support.

6

Resmark logoResmark

Best for: US adventure and guided-tour operators who want software with deep outfitter pedigree and a built-in waiver tool

Budget $15/mo (+$500 setup, 3.5%) · Standard $95/mo (no setup, 2.5%) · Enterprise custom · no free plan

Pros

  • Built by the team behind a US tour company running since 1961
  • Transparent published pricing across three tiers
  • Bundles WaiverSign, a digital waiver tool, at no extra cost
  • Lets you collect a deposit or the full balance at checkout

Cons

  • No free plan — entry is $15/mo plus a one-time $500 setup fee, or $95/mo
  • Platform fee runs 2.5–3.5% by tier, above the market's lowest
  • No structured installment schedules surfaced
  • Distribution runs through its TrueConnect partner network, not a broad named-OTA channel manager
Honest take

Resmark is a credible, transparent choice for guided adventure operators, and the free built-in waiver is a real saving. The gaps for an operator who sells direct are the setup fee on the cheap tier, a platform fee above 2%, and deposits without true installment schedules.

How should you choose a TripWorks alternative?

There's no single best tool — there's a best tool for how you actually sell. Start with one question: what's driving you off TripWorks — the fee, or a feature gap?

What if the 6% fee is your real problem?

Then the per-booking math is the whole decision. Samba is a flat 2% with the first $10,000 of bookings free; Bókun runs around 1–1.5%; Rezgo charges 4.9% per online booking with no monthly subscription at all. Each undercuts TripWorks's 6%, and Rezgo is worth a look if you'd rather pay only when you get a booking than carry any subscription. On a $3,000 trip, TripWorks's 6% is about $180 before card processing; Samba's flat 2% is $60.

What if most of your bookings come from OTAs?

Then distribution outweighs the headline fee — but the fee still matters. Bókun is built for reach: a marketplace of 2,600+ OTAs and resellers, a 0% Bókun fee on Viator bookings on paid plans, and a booking fee far below TripWorks's. FareHarbor is the other heavyweight, with broad reach as a Booking Holdings brand, though it doesn't publish its fees.

What if you want the closest like-for-like?

Then Peek Pro is the natural comparison: a day-tour-and-activity platform with point-of-sale, waivers and marketing tooling much like TripWorks's. Just note its pricing is demo-gated rather than published, so confirm the fee before you commit — and weigh it against the transparent options above.

What if your itinerary runs longer than a day?

Then look at how the tool handles a multi-day trip specifically, not just a single booking. TripWorks supports deposits — by group, by guest, fixed or percentage — but doesn't surface a structured installment schedule or a multi-day itinerary builder; its center of gravity is tours and activities, not multi-week trips. Resmark is the closer match here: it's built for adventure and multi-day operators specifically (rafting, backpacking, outfitting), with equipment manifests, guide-tied gear rentals, and waiver management baked in, at a published $15–95/month plus a 2.5–3.5% transaction fee depending on tier.

How hard is it to switch from TripWorks to Samba?

Switching booking platforms feels heavier than it is, mostly because your live calendar and customer relationships are on the line. The practical work breaks into three parts: moving your experiences and availability, redirecting your booking links, and bringing across any in-flight bookings.

What do you need to move first?

Your experiences and their availability. On Samba's free plan you can rebuild all your experiences, set deposit and installment terms, and run real test bookings through the engine before you point any traffic at it. In Samba, deposits and installment plans are standard rather than a deposit-only workaround on a day-tour tool.

What happens to bookings already in TripWorks?

Let existing departures run out on TripWorks while new bookings flow to Samba — there's no need for a hard cutover. Point your website's "Book now" links and embedded buttons at the new checkout, keep TripWorks live until its last booked trip departs, then close the account. Offline payments you mark manually carry no Samba fee, which keeps reconciling a transition period straightforward.

The honest part: there's real setup work, and if a lot of your volume comes through TripWorks's OTA channels, you'll want a distribution plan for those — Samba syncs bookings from connected channels like GetYourGuide, but it isn't a full distribution channel manager. What you get in exchange is a free way to start, a per-booking fee a third of TripWorks's — a flat 2%, first $10,000 free, processing billed straight to Stripe — and deposits and installment plans built in. If you're ready to see it against your own trips, you can start free on Samba.

Frequently asked questions

How much does TripWorks cost?

TripWorks is free to start on its Standard plan, which it funds with a 6% booking fee plus a credit-card processing fee it doesn't publish on its pricing page; a custom Enterprise tier is also available. Samba is one free plan at $0/month with every feature included, plus a flat 2% per booking and the first $10,000 of bookings free, with Stripe processing billed separately and directly to Stripe.

Is there a cheaper free TripWorks alternative?

TripWorks is free to start, but its 6% booking fee makes it one of the more expensive options per booking. Samba and Bókun also offer a $0/month plan, and Rezgo and FareHarbor run with no monthly subscription — and all carry a far lower per-booking fee. Samba's is a flat 2%, with the first $10,000 of bookings free and processing billed straight to Stripe.

What is the best TripWorks alternative for operators who sell direct?

Samba leads for operators who sell direct, with native deposits and installment plans, a free $0/mo plan with every feature included, and a flat 2% per-booking fee (first $10k free). TripWorks is built for tours and activities and doesn't surface an installment schedule on its public pages, so operators who collect balances over time feel the gap most.

Does TripWorks support deposits and payment plans?

TripWorks supports extensive deposit options — a single deposit per group, a deposit per guest, a fixed amount or a percentage per ticket, or full payment at checkout. It doesn't surface a structured installment schedule. Samba includes native deposits and installment plans, so you can collect a trip balance over several payments.

Which TripWorks alternative is best for OTA distribution?

Bókun, with a marketplace of 2,600+ OTAs and resellers, a 0% Bókun fee on Viator bookings on paid plans, and a booking fee around 1–1.5% — a fraction of TripWorks's 6%. FareHarbor is the other heavyweight, with broad OTA reach as a Booking Holdings brand, though it doesn't publish its fees, which are reported by third parties at 6–8%.

Make the switch to Samba

Keep more of every booking. Switch in an afternoon. Start on the free plan.

Get started free